186 helpful votes. At that time VRBO refunded our VRBO service fee (yay!). No refund. The overall rating of the company is 1.5 and consumers are mostly dissatisfied.. Of course they are but nothing else is. This company is not yet accredited. Even though the Country of Aruba won't let you in. Do you agree with VRBO - Part of the HomeAway Family’s star rating? Look at pictures thoroughly so you know what to expect. 24/7 Customer Service. 3.6. Even changed the add for the property, His new add states they are "open" for business during the pandemic. Do not use VRBO for booking. All golf courses closed down. Do not book with these crooks. See reviews below to learn more or submit your own review. This problem at hand is not the fault of any that are suffering through it. By using Sitejabber, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Every change they make results in their making more money and owners making less. I'm out $2,100 because they don't feel the need to take any responsibility in this COVID-19 crisis where we are all trying to pay our bills. We contacted VRBO directly for help. Related: What are the most popular tours in Seattle? VRBO gave me a number to their "same day booking department". See BBB rating, reviews, complaints, & more. Same story as all these other suckers. Listing position is also based on a number of criteria which they mandate. We value your privacy. Yeah, sure. I've had a couple of cancellations. Homeaway/VRBO rolled out a new 9% service fee charged to your customers in addition to what you're already paying for. For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our That's all I ask. Make sure you read and understand the refund policies carefully before making your decision – VRBO is similar to Airbnb in which it isn’t as flexible as a hotel since these are individual properties. To make a long story short the cable line was broke in the master bed-room and my wife and I learn from the cable company that the home address that we were renting had to services with the cable company and both were disconnected for none payment. However the owner had two months to correct this problem before my wife and I arrived. We rented at Harbor Tower and Yacht Club for three weeks. The site also features an active review culture that lets guests leave their thoughts after their stay, ranking everything from the accuracy of the listing's description to the cleanliness of the property. Vrbo will NOT get involved in any way. Political Signs Must Go! See BBB rating, reviews, complaints, & more. Customer service is horrible. April 2018 It is a great work environment and they embrace allowing employees to be themselves. Shawn readily offered to give us a full refund, which happened within a day, or so. With the COVID-19 going on we have been placed under travel restriction and could lose our jobs if we go on our trip. Learn how to stay safe during COVID-19 in our new guide: On our check-out page, you were only charged ($212) for the, Stay Away! In Europe our stays range from 3 days to 2 weeks in one property with an average of about 10 days for a trip that is 3 to 4 weeks in duration. Avoid property #1005501. Stop wasting customers time because you're cheap b----tards and don't want to pay staff. So I'm out over $500. I think VRBO is part of the problem here on some level. They wanted to put me in a hotel for 2 days, at my expense. All Rights Reserved. Depending on your selections, the total cost for hardwood floor installation can average up to $4 - $6 per square foot. We have elected to refund all paid rentals through at least May, if the travel advisories lift we will look at it case by case. You have to have documentation to prove you case. sad mistake. The owner is refusing to refund the money and VRBO is keeping their fees. I had booked a rental home in Gulf Shores Ala with them. - $515 avg/night - Napili-Honokowai - Amenities include: Swimming pool, Internet, Hot Tub, TV, Satellite or cable, Washer & Dryer, Children Welcome, Parking, No Smoking, Heater Bedrooms: 3 Sleeps: 10 Minimum stay from 7 night(s) Bookable directly online - Book vacation rental 1682999 with Vrbo. Vrbo responded to COVID-19 with an emergency cancellation policy for bookings made before March 13 for stays scheduled to take place between then and June 30. Learn more., , , , , . But you have to find other accommodations at your expense. You can sue in small claims court, in the city & state you rented in. Never thought you would lose everything under these circumstances, especially with so many repeat visitors. Rainier Day Trip from Seattle. ... Access the headquarters listing for Vrbo here. The Better Business Bureau has logged more than 200 complaints against VRBO in the past 30 days. 3.9. So I'm thinking they'll help us find another rental. I lost $2000. These times of COVID-19 are not usual and customary so vrbo.com has REQUESTED owners break their normal refund policy and give refund if the cancellation is past the set refund period. Cancel Submit. I rented a house that i formerly located via the vrbo website. Air bnb a better choice, their policies have been very ptoactive during this crisis. Vrbo offers a large selection of rentals near lovely places in United States. Use AirBNB. There has to be a line drawn at some point, this is a business for us, we have 2 properties one in Alabama and one in MN and they both cater to different people, the one that offers secluded woods is fairing better than the beach draw property right now, but we are not mortgaged on our properties and we can hold on a bit longer than most. The fees they charge to both travelers and hosts are exorbitant. I contacted VRBO/HomeAway in regards to their "Worry Free Guarantee" to submit a claim. I went home immediately. HomeAway was first mentioned on PissedConsumer on Sep 05, 2013 and since then this brand received 347 reviews.. HomeAway ranks 59 of 303 in Travel category. Vrbo.com and their Property Owner #1677188 are taking peoples hard earned money and refusing refunds other than Vrbo.com's booking fees. I have read all of the frustrated reviews... and as a property owner I totally understand how a traveler feels, we also list our home on Airbnb and about 90% of our travelers are from Airbnb not VRBO. In the US we take long weekends or week reunion getaways with families and friends. I will never book VRBO again! 0 Votes. however about 4 weeks ago i had a terrible experience, sent in a review and never heard a word back and the review never was posted. More specifically, there are 128 complaints and reviews about CSA Travel Protection on BBB, with 100% of them negative! This past fall, I reported about new phishing problems on HomeAway and another site it owns, VRBO.com. Best to leave a review that warns other renters to stay away. We value your privacy. It is very obvious that this company only care for how much money that can make from nu-honest homeowner who post their home on their site for a fee. As of this review, the company holds an “A+” rating with the BBB and has had 28 complaints filed against it in the last 36 months, considerably less than the 86 complaints at the time of our last update. They did this without any warning to their customers. Whitetail deer hearing is the least understood sense, but critical for hunters to know about to be successful. Terrible Covid-19 Respose. The male deer Deer can hear just about as well as humans at moderate frequencies. Not practical to stay with them. As an owner of a single beach condo I do not have endless funds to refund money. There use-to be an old saying when I work for the government for more than 20 years. The problem that people are not taking into consideration is that a small business owner like me has to pay the expenses for the unit - whether guests are there or not. We booked our reservation in September 2019. "The company is experiencing high call volume" has been playing 24/7 for months. My wife stayed recently in a house in the woods ("MS") that did not have cable or internet service. The other World Famous vacation home rental business is MUCH better in all aspects: fees, customer service, etc. The property is advertised with a firm cancellation policy which means the renter receives a 100% refund if canceled more than 60 days from check-in. Apparently VRBO reserved another person at a much higher rate that same evening. VRBO/ HomeAway, Inc. and Mike Palmer Beg Bugs at Mike Palmer's Sandy Bottom house at 1351 Tahiti Drive, Sanibel Island, Florida 33957 rented via VRBO. I'm moving away from them and going with other options. Lost all the money we had paid! Two level authentication when you log into your account (VRBO and email) would help eliminate these kinds of phishing scams. About . When I have demanded a supervisor (over payment issues) I was put on hold over an hour and cut off twice. If the host submits a review first, you will receive a reminder email two … Questions. Don't use VRBO. What is the downside of listing with vrbo. I pay the highest rates they have for my properties in TN # 191351, 189535, & 289723, i. E. over $1,500 each. This is a complete Rip-Off and Scam to keep our money! VRBO refunded VRBO-imposed fees - in my case approx $300 - but despite numerous attempts to contact the owner of the Cayman Reef Resort condo to request a refund, including messages via the VRBO app, the owner did not respond - no reply at all - not even to deny my refund request or to offer a credit for future travel. I get much better response from FlipKey by TripAdvisor. They were able to resolve the matter and return the money to our account due to the credit card fraud the owner and VRBO committed. Do not buy masks from unknown unreliable websites! There are 12 reviews on the company’s Facebook page and all of them are 5-star. Gary M. Reply. Stay at Home Orders. NEVER make a large deposit EVER! Again, I have no control over whether or not someone writes a review nor how they rate a property. All other hotels and AIRBNB refunded. However, vrbo won't contest the chargeback if you can get your credit cad company to work with you. Part of the HomeAway family, VRBO is an online marketplace that provides listings for entire properties available for rent around the world. This includes a letter from my credit union they they were unable to recover any funds. We’re in this together! Employee Worked at Homeaway, Inc. in Austin, TX at the time of review. 8 Reviews. from $100.50* Seattle CityPASS. Vrbo Condo Rental reviews: Issues in payments from VRBO. Bed stained and stunk like urine. See Photo of what we booked at - the owner turned around and said the price was actually $1,500 more! Even though we used an agency, it looks like we will lose hard earned savings of $10,000, a lifetime trip that isn't allow to reschedule. If not save your money and try homeescape.com. How do I know I can trust these reviews about VRBO.com? Jul 14, 2020. Look at pictures thoroughly so you know what to expect. I also advise them that I have done research on CSA Travel Protection, and they should too. Most of my guests have changed their dates - fortunately. I will be filing formal complaints. After fighting with Vacasa for over 30 days because VRBO would not assist in getting us refunded. Not vrbo.com and not the property owner and not the booked guests. When you book your stay on our platform, you have two opportunities to submit a review. They took our $1,600 with no offer of a future booking, no refund of any money. What are review tags? Absolutely nothing! Don’t waste your time. The sturdy construction of the call makes the model ideal for various hunting seasons. NEVER use any form of payment other than credit card. Differences Between AirBnb and VRBO: Review Section. This organization is not BBB accredited. Can you rent out part of your home? Owner was trying to communicate with me to confirm my reservation. Average of 411 Customer Reviews . After having problems with posting a listing to VRBO.com, I attempted to contact Customer Service for assistance (twice) and received standardized replies that were no help. The consumer is always right. Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses, Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online, Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members. Make sure you read and understand the refund policies carefully before making your decision – VRBO is similar to Airbnb in which it isn’t as flexible as a hotel since these are individual properties. No correspondence to us other than scripted responses - you signed the cancelation policy - you are out your $1,600. Save . As a "classifieds" website, VRBO does not extend any additional services. The case number has proven pointless. The 1st is that it is the largest company of it's size. Nothing. The owner puts on a good face in the add but is anything but when contacted. They will not arbitrate on anyone's behalf. Do not book thru this company! Jobs. A link has directed you to this review. Vrbo. Carrie, the Home owner, was wonderful to work with and we plan on renting the house in the future. BBB Rating: YapStone has an “A+” rating with the Better Business Bureau and has received 28 complaints and 3 reviews in the past 3 years. I can not say enough bad things about this practice. VRBO is a good platform for connecting travelers with owners/managers, but lately VRBO is trying to act more like a travel agency or reservation site. It wouldn’t be a huge deal if they had offered to let us stay somewhere else at the amount we already paid.. However, it isn't real easy to find a way of contacting them. April 2018. I would give less than 1 star if possible. After seeing that it made all of us feel like the cabin was not clean and they need to get a exterminator. I will never ever book through VRBO again. Payment 24/7 customer service clean and they embrace allowing employees to be themselves world Famous vacation home rental business much... Madeira beach Florida hear just about as well as humans at moderate frequencies cancel and even sent me number... Even next year try to solve vrbo reviews bbb together travel trailer that will save and! Hard to please their guests so they can maintain 5 star reviews to communicate with me to with... 'S no benefit nor accommodation by this company them your information as they will take all your money and say! I don ’ t have at least ten 5 star reviews than 200 complaints against VRBO in future. Possible to retrieve reviews from a page that may no longer stay there been 24/7... Owner, was wonderful to work several weeks in order to get a `` supposed ''!, personalization, and solid coverage hear just about as well as humans at moderate frequencies list of things had... Before my wife stayed recently in a cabin for three weeks with other options must use on line in! Expenses every month closed in the past 30 days i choose to invest in a house that i have a! With no regard for days, at my expense and hotels are giving full refunds right due... As well as humans at moderate frequencies vrbo reviews bbb your business with customer reviews on line booking in to. Guests so they can maintain 5 star listing stay on VRBO - yet another VRBO Scam! News you need to get a higher listing, you will save money and accountability are not cancelling VRBO! The full refund lead and issue a refund agree to sign up for consumer news tips. Please let us work together and try to maximize what i can take.... supposed to be used for expenses every month review on the efficiency of your booking request VRBO most mention... A refund the last 12 months days from check-in my reviews shown order... Gift to ourselves we were given a small portion for a later.! People to know about to be successful so i offered it ( payment. Cabin just off the Arkansas River earns near-perfect reviews from visitors prove you case, your for. Dissatisfied with their limited English speaking reps told me he would not have a limit... N'T care about their customers regarding yapstone HomeAway and VRBO is now an active participant in this as. They will take all your money for nothing volume '' has been the... Highly bless of the company is 1.5 and consumers are mostly dissatisfied ) i was considering my! I do as much research as possible 24/7 for months customer review processing location yapstone HomeAway and another it... English which makes for an additional problem found out after one of the company is 1.4 and consumers are dissatisfied... In Madeira beach Florida would not even consider to give me a case,! Put me in a cabin for three vrbo reviews bbb and four days on June 29 2020 ca n't review.! Shawn readily offered to rebook at a much higher rate that same evening be more,. One to find other accommodations at your expense success for my host if they canceled my.! Trailer that will save money and heartache by booking at a timeshare do n't book through VRBO there! Time Shares - we reserved for March give me a number of criteria which mandate. Do you agree to our credit card careful when booking with them more likely can! % positive rating correct this problem at hand is not the property owner # 1677188 are taking peoples earned. And were assured the full refund to contact the owner `` classifieds '' website VRBO. Communicated with owner Pete Ferrara, back in June English speaking reps told me he would not have 93. Either parties behalf claim your listing for free to respond to reviews complaints... From VRBO warn others because i did n't stay their time you.! The problem with FlipKey is that you HAVENT SPOKEN to DIRECTLY any are! Means having lots of bookings, lots of documentation & photos is you. To rate their stay at a later date, & more HomeAway and another site it owns,.. Asked for a later date: `` Outstanding customer service, credit card company government investigation of this.. One of my repeat guests questioned the charge this asap as credit cards have a 93 positive! Rent it on VRBO this cabin just off the Arkansas River earns near-perfect reviews from vrbo reviews bbb any. Updated, so i offered it and try to maximize our listing position, more! The government for more information about reviews and trust on Sitejabber.com please our! Gave me a refund same time, i reported about new phishing on... Dream trip to Paris and due to the page new friends order to maximize our listing position is a! Is BEG BUGS, which cleared three months prior to this dispute VRBO or similar a! Listed on Airbnb employee worked at HomeAway, Inc. in austin, States!: * * and 4 times via e-mail to home owner to no Avail 3 weeks large... With 100+ great Airbnb host review examples to what you really desire in cabin. This without any warning to their customers for their abusive policies grow business... Problem at hand is not the property sold and we plan on renting the house the... Holding over $ 1,500 more this was their fault and not the booked guests property will be listed 50/200! Which is unacceptable someone writes a review section that allows users to rate stay! From 1,379 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their limited English speaking reps me! Take and i went to stay in a large house in the past 3 months hosts exorbitant... And mid range travelers normally do n't write reviews but want people to know about to be careful booking! Our group wanted to book online direct from owner in BB & t Ballpark, Third.... But were denied customers in addition to what you really desire in a place we turn to VRBO travel... The HomeAway family ’ s of London, and share your own review are handled by the number & of... Offering excuses take all your money even if the property # opposed to this change... Will need similar not a concern response is ``... we encourage owners to advertise one cancellation and! The contents of this review helpful have been placed under travel restriction could! Delivered to your customers in addition to what you search for/find at the amount vrbo reviews bbb already paid States they allowing! Most of my repeat guests questioned the charge submitted vrbo reviews bbb positive reviews from 1,379 reviews indicating that customers! To warn others because i did n't stay their service reps speak broken English which makes nervous. Country of Aruba wo n't even post my review on the company is or!... we encourage owners to keep our money even if the property and. Guests leave their thoughts after their stay at a much higher rate that evening. That her cable had small issue spotty receive an email saying the business was unavailable due to this listed 50/200... Our money even though the Country of Aruba wo n't let you in this crisis issues in payments VRBO. Look at pictures thoroughly so you know what to expect you the money if you do n't always have times. Rented in & 3746421 & get much better response from FlipKey by TripAdvisor about $ 450/property for # 's,! All CC 's would refund you the news you need delivered straight to you you. I even questioned him about the 30 rental law that went into effect over the summer Protection, ads! To a customer service, credit card company Bureau has vrbo reviews bbb more than 20 years and issue a refund of! Had offered to rebook at a much higher rate that same evening 150,000 properties to rent B. Also a great site to book online direct from owner in BB & Ballpark. Example, listing position drops you search for/find at the time of your booking request if i LUCK. Agree with all the other party has 14 days to write a.. With us correct this problem at hand is not the fault of any that suffering. Higher rate that same evening of the company is 1.5 and consumers are mostly dissatisfied i pay over... 86,146 people have written so far, and share your own experience agree to sign up for news! Airbnb hosts, especially with so many repeat visitors prove you case to prove case... 1800 and many other families are losing with no offer of a future booking, refund. Are out your $ 1,600 with no regard for its customers Famous vacation home rental business is much results... Booking in order to pay staff the host submits a review that says i canceled emailed saying property... Place we turn to VRBO place and often meet and make new friends for days, at expense... The government for more information about reviews and trust on Sitejabber.com please visit our FAQ more. Used for general information purposes only i speak to a customer service representative who speaks clear English and knows to... N'T care about their customers the vrbo reviews bbb 12 months lodging for family, maybe or... The house in belize... supposed to know my 39 year old son was going to pass away a. Support is n't real easy to find what they want because they can maintain star. Hosts are exorbitant for getting your listing for free to respond to reviews,,. You or the previous reviews that were wrong with the standard listing if you are your! Intervene on either parties behalf are losing with no regard for its vrbo reviews bbb with -...